Assistive Daily Living Services Program

Published on
July 20, 2023
Last updated
February 29, 2024
Written by
Katie headshot
Katie Wilkinson
Reviewed by
Header image
The Assistive Daily Living Services Program enables eligible individuals with quadriplegia to live independently in their preferred communities, providing a range of supportive services and fair compensation for family caregivers.
Available in:
Presented by Givers
Givers hires, supports, and pays people who are caring for their loved ones.
See If You're Eligible

The Assistive Daily Living Services (ADLS) Program in South Dakota is a vital Medicaid waiver that seeks to empower individuals with quadriplegia to lead independent lives within their chosen communities, avoiding the need for nursing home care.

Overview of South Dakota's Assistive Daily Living Services Program

South Dakota's Assistive Daily Living Services (ADLS) Program is a Medicaid 1915(c) Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waiver designed to support individuals with quadriplegia in living independently within their homes and chosen communities, offering an alternative to residing in nursing homes. The program is a collaborative effort between the South Dakota Department of Social Services, the Department of Human Services, and the Division of Rehabilitation Services.

The ADLS program aims to achieve several critical objectives:

  1. It promotes independence among its participants by providing a wide range of supportive services while ensuring their health and safety.
  2. The program offers a cost-effective alternative to institutional care, allowing individuals to receive necessary assistance without resorting to expensive nursing home placements.
  3. The ADLS program strives to empower participants by enabling them to exercise their rights and responsibilities fully, regardless of the method of service delivery.

By focusing on these objectives, the ADLS Program aims to enhance the overall quality of life for individuals with quadriplegia and their families, fostering a supportive environment that recognizes the value of family caregivers and their indispensable role in the healthcare system.

Eligibility Requirements

Individuals must meet several eligibility criteria to qualify for South Dakota's Assistive Daily Living Services (ADLS) Program.

  1. Age: Applicants must be at least 18 years old.
  2. Disability: The waiver is specifically for individuals with quadriplegia resulting from various conditions, including ataxia, cerebral palsy, rheumatoid arthritis, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, traumatic brain injury, congenital disorders, accidents and injuries to the spinal cord, and other neuromuscular or cerebral conditions or diseases. Individuals with four limbs absent from illness, trauma, or congenital conditions are also eligible.
  3. Financial Eligibility: Applicants must either be recipients of Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or qualify for Medicaid as determined by the Department of Social Services.
  4. Level of Care: Individuals must require a nursing facility level of care, indicating a need for significant assistance with daily activities due to their quadriplegia.
  5. Independence in Directing Services: If receiving personal attendant services, applicants must demonstrate the ability to direct and manage these services independently.
  6. Medical Stability: Applicants must be medically stable and free from life-threatening conditions.

Can you get paid to care for your loved one?

woman smiling

Services and Supports Available

The Assistive Daily Living Services (ADLS) Program in South Dakota offers comprehensive services and supports tailored to the unique needs of individuals with quadriplegia. These services promote independence and enable participants to live in their preferred communities. Some of the critical services provided under the ADLS Program include:

  1. Personal Attendant Services: Assistance with activities like bathing, grooming, oral hygiene, and medication management. Meal preparation and housekeeping are also covered if no other family member can provide these services. Qualified family members or friends may be paid for serving as personal attendants.
  2. Case Management: Initial and annual eligibility assessments, development of individual service plans, and assistance in identifying community resources to support participants in their daily lives.
  3. Consumer Preparation: Training and support for individuals in hiring and training personal attendants and maintaining personal health.
  4. Skilled Nursing Services: Nursing services are directed by the care recipient's physician, including those the personal attendant cannot provide.
  5. Emergency Response Services: Monthly payment for emergency response services like LifeLine to ensure prompt assistance in critical situations.
  6. Respite: Temporary care and supervision when the primary caregiver is absent, providing necessary relief and support.
  7. Specialized Medical Equipment & Supplies: Provision of devices, controls, or appliances that enhance participants' ability to perform daily activities, including adaptive positioning devices, mobility aids, and augmentative communication devices.
  8. Vehicle Modifications: Adaptations or alterations to vehicles, such as adaptive driving features, lifts, ramps, and wheelchair securement/seating systems, to accommodate the participant's particular needs.
  9. Environmental Accessibility Adaptations: Physical modifications to the participant's residence to enhance independence within the home, such as ramps, grab bars, and widened doorways.

By offering this array of services and supports, the ADLS Program aims to empower individuals with quadriplegia to lead fulfilling lives while remaining in their homes and chosen communities. These services not only promote independence but also recognize the crucial role of family caregivers and aim to ensure fair compensation for their efforts.


Who are you caring for?

Compensation for Caregivers

South Dakota's Assistive Daily Living Services (ADLS) Program recognizes the essential role of unpaid family caregivers in supporting individuals with quadriplegia. The program offers a self-directed option, which allows eligible participants to choose and hire their attendants, including family members or friends, to provide care. This self-directed model empowers participants to exercise greater control over their care and fosters a supportive environment where family caregivers can be compensated for their valuable contributions. Family members who meet all the qualifications to serve as personal attendants can receive payment for their caregiving services, providing them with fair compensation for their vital work. The ADLS Program aims to advocate for caregiver recognition and fair pay, acknowledging their significant impact on the well-being and independence of the program participants.

Learn more about Medicaid self-directed care >>

A Note from Givers

Caregivers deserve recognition and fair compensation for their pivotal role in empowering independence and enriching lives. If you or a loved one are caring for someone with quadriplegia, take a step towards fair recognition. Fill out this form to determine if you are eligible for caregiver compensation.

Other programs in your state

Find out how to get paid other states

Givers hires, supports, and pays people caring for their loved ones.
See if you qualify in 60 seconds.
Check Your Eligibility
Share this post
Apply to Get Paid