Senior Care
min read

Assisted Living Levels Of Care Explained

Discover the levels of assisted living care, from minimal support to intensive, specialized care, ensuring tailored care for your loved one.
Published on
January 4, 2024
Presented by Givers
Givers hires, supports, and pays people who are caring for their loved ones.
See If You're Eligible

Assisted living facilities have become a saving grace for many American families trying to help their aging loved ones retain independence while getting daily support. As our families deal with more mobility issues, medical needs, and the general challenges of aging, these personalized communities allow aging adults to receive care while maintaining a sense of freedom and dignity. 

What is assisted living?

Assisted living offers housing and support services like medication management, meals, and mobility help for those needing additional care. Memory care units specialize in individuals with Alzheimer's, dementia, or related cognitive conditions requiring more intensive supervision and therapeutic activities. 

Not all assisted living is created equal. While they aim to promote independence and quality of life, many assisted living homes have different tiers or "levels" of care to accommodate different needs. The range of offerings differs significantly from slight assistance with cleaning and meals to intensive memory care. So, how do you start mapping out what's best for your loved one?

Most assisted living communities have main tiers of care like independent living, assisted living, or memory care. For example, independent living is best suited for adults who need minimal help with daily activities. Assessing your loved one's capabilities will help determine the appropriate level of care to match their evolving needs in 2024 and beyond. Discussing these differences with potential assisted living facilities can aid your family's decision-making process.

What are the four types of assisted living facilities? 

With the range of senior living options continuing to diversify in 2024, deciding the right care setting for your care recipient can be challenging. 

  1. Skilled nursing facilities offer round-the-clock nursing and therapy for those recovering from illness or injury. 
  2. Assisted living communities provide personalized support with daily tasks in a residential setting. 
  3. Specialized memory care centers tailor activities and environments for those with Alzheimer's and dementia requiring close supervision. 
  4. Long-term care homes and nursing homes provide the highest level of daily medical care and physical assistance. 

Evaluating both your loved one's physical capabilities as well as their mental, emotional, and social needs can determine which assisted living model is most suitable. Partnering with a care adviser, geriatrician, or social worker can further help analyze available choices. 

Considering core features like staff training, access to medical providers, safety aspects, amenities, and costs for each facility will equip you to make the most informed decision when touring potential assisted living options in your area in 2024 and beyond.

Daily activities in assisted living facilities

Assisted living facilities operate on a well-defined schedule to provide residents with necessary daily support and services. Mornings typically begin with assistance with personal care, such as bathing and dressing, followed by breakfast in the communal dining room. 

Residents with dietary restrictions often have menus tailored to their individual needs. Various activities, such as board games, light exercise classes, and reading groups, are offered throughout the day. These activities provide opportunities for socialization and mental stimulation. 

Lunch and dinner are again served in the dining room, followed by free time for individual pursuits or further interactions with staff and fellow residents. Staff typically manage medication, ensuring medications are taken correctly and on time. 

Medical assistance is available around the clock if needed. The overall focus is on providing residents with a safe and comfortable environment while helping them maintain independence.


Who are you caring for?

Levels of care for assisted living facilities

When exploring assisted living options for your loved one, you may encounter facilities referencing "Level 1," "Level 2," or ascending care levels. It's important to note no universal standards define these tiered levels of care across all facilities; instead, each location customizes its definitions for the services provided at each level. While terms may sound similar between communities, the actual care offerings differ significantly from one facility to the next. 

As you compare and tour assisted living locations, don't rely on level names alone. Ask detailed questions about the types of care bundled into each level, the availability of customized service plans, costs associated with each tier, and how increased needs are accommodated. 

Pay close attention to the responses and materials provided to gauge if the community's approach correctly aligns with your loved one's current and projected physical, medical, and personal preferences. The "level" names act as a starting point, but validating the actual services under those titles is vital to finding the right assisted living fit.

Level 1 Care (Low-Level Care)

Level 1 Care is provided to mostly independent individuals who need assistance with daily living activities. This level of care includes minimal help with medication management, occasional assistance with bathing, dressing, or grooming, and housekeeping services. It is designed to support individuals who can care for themselves for the most part but need a little help with specific tasks to maintain their independence and quality of life.

Level 2 Care (Moderate-Level Care)

Level 2 Care is the category for care recipients who need more frequent assistance with daily activities. This includes regular help with personal care like bathing, dressing, and grooming. They may also need help with medication management and mobility. 

Level 3 Care (High-Level Care)

Level 3 Care helps aging adults who need extensive assistance with most daily activities. They may have mobility issues, require more complex medication routines, or need more constant care and supervision due to chronic medical conditions or cognitive impairments. If you think your loved one may require this level of care, discuss their needs with their healthcare provider and explore your options for finding the proper care facility or caregiver.

Level 4 Care (Specialized Care)

Level 4 Care is the advanced care for older adults requiring extensive assistance and medical attention. This type of care is typically needed by seniors who suffer from memory-related disorders such as dementia or Alzheimer's disease or those with complex medical needs. 


Can you get paid to care for your loved one?

woman smiling

Finding the right living facility for your loved one

If you are considering an assisted living facility for your loved one, gathering detailed information about the different levels of care is essential. Facilities can provide you with an understanding of what each level of care includes, how they assess the level of care required by a resident, and how they adjust care as the resident's needs change over time. 

As a family caregiver, you must understand the level of care your loved one requires and make an informed decision about the best facility to meet their needs. Remember, every individual has unique requirements, and finding the proper care can provide peace of mind for you and your loved one.

Share this post
Givers hires, supports, and pays people caring for their loved ones.
See if you qualify in 60 seconds.
Check Your Eligibility
Apply to Get Paid